Axe continues to fall on councillors who voted against Joburg speaker, as ACDP gives two the boot | News24


Leader of the African Christian Democratic Party Kenneth Meshoe. Picture: Lulama Zenzile

The African Christian Democratic Party (ACDP) has axed two Johannesburg councillors for voting against speaker Vasco da Gama last month.

On Wednesday, the party’s disciplinary panel handed down its sanctions in which the councillors were dismissed.

The national executive committee upheld the sanctions against Ronald Dyers and Dingaan Sithole on Thursday.

ACDP president Kenneth Meshoe said: “The party is committed to clean governance and wishes to reaffirm that all our leaders are expected to conduct themselves in an honourable, honest and transparent manner.”

In a statement, the party said the two councillors had been found guilty of bringing the ACDP into disrepute by going against its principles of honesty and integrity, and for voting against the coalition partnership.

They were also found guilty of defying a lawful instruction from provincial leader Dulton Adams to vote against a motion of no confidence in Da Gama.

The ACDP said the new councillors would be sworn in after the administrative requirements had been met.  

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred

In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won’t be billed. 

Source link

Previous articlePHOTOS: Bipasha Basu, Karan Singh Grover host theme-based baby shower ceremony, parents-to-be arrive in style
Next article‘Did he come to scare anyone?’ Tejashwi’s sharp swipe at Amit Shah’s Bihar visit
SATARK NEWS ENGLISH was launched in 2020. And in just a few months, it became the famous English news website in India and abroad. And now we publish with three different languages English, Hindi, and Urdu.