Blitzboks crowned World Series champions | Sport


Blitzboks (Images courtesy of official Springbok Sevens)

Blitzboks clinched the 2021 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series title after beating second-place Kenya 33-7 in the semi-final of the Edmonton leg on Sunday.

Neil Powel’s charges will now meet Great Britain in the final on Monday at 01:28 AM (SA time).

South Africa outplayed Mexico 56-0, Hong Kong 43-5 and Canada 49-0 to continue their impressive form last weekend in Vancouver, where they claimed their first Canada Sevens tournaments.

Against their African compatriots Kenya, Muller du Plessis (2 tries), Siviwe Soyizwapi (2) and Ronald Brown scored, with Ronald Brown converting four of the five tries.

This is the Blitzboks’ first World Series title since 2018.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred

In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can
trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to
a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism,
top opinions and a range of features. Journalism
strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.

Source link

Previous articleGaza to begin rebuilding homes destroyed in May conflict | News24
Next articleAsia-Pacific stocks mixed as investors await Chinese industrial profits data for August; oil prices jump 1%
SATARK NEWS ENGLISH was launched in 2020. And in just a few months, it became the famous English news website in India and abroad. And now we publish with three different languages English, Hindi, and Urdu.