Vijay Hazare Trophy: Aryan Juyal, Rinku Singh Guide Uttar Pradesh to 7-wicket Win Over Hyderabad


Arpit Vasavada hit a career-best unbeaten century before Parth Bhut shone with the ball as Saurashtra outclassed Gujarat by 107 runs in a Group A Vijay Hazare Trophy match here on Thursday.

Saurashtra rode on Vasavada’s 86-ball unbeaten 100, which was studded with nine boundaries and two sixes, and Cheteshwar Pujara’s 90-ball 56 to post 285 for eight after being sent into bat.

Right-arm pacer Chintan Gaja (3/51), Shen Patel (2/50) and Arzan Nagwaswalla (2/58) shone bright with the ball for Gujarat.

ALSO READ | ‘He is a Players’ Captain’: VVS Laxman Praises Tactically Sound Hardik Pandya

Defending, left-arm orthodox bowler Bhut picked up career-best figures of 4 for 57, while Jaydev Unadkat (2/16) and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja (2/30) shared four wickets between them to bundle out Gujarat for 178 in 41.4 overs.

Bhargav Merai (34) top-scored for Gujarat while wicket-keeper Het Patel (27), Chirag Gandhi (26) and Piyush Chawla (20) all got starts before throwing away their wickets.

Saurashtra are leading Group A with two wins from three matches, followed by Himachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Chandigarh, Hyderabad, Gujarat, Tripura and Manipur.

In another Group A match, Uttar Pradesh defeated Hyderabad by seven wickets, while Tripura beat Himachal Pradesh by 39 runs.

Elsewhere in the group, Chandigarh beat Manipur by six wickets.

Also Read | Vijay Hazare Trophy: Ton-up Majumdar Stars in Bengal’s Win Over Pondicherry; Maharashtra Beat Mumbai

Brief Scores: Saurashtra 285 for 8 in 50 overs (Arpit Vasavada 100 not out, Cheteshwar Pujara 56; Chintan Gaja 3/51) vs Gujarat 178 all out in 41.4 overs (Bhargav Merai 34; Parth Bhut 4/57).

Hyderabad 256 for 9 in 50 overs (Mickil Jaiswal 73, Rahul Buddhi 51; Shivam Mavi 3/52) vs Uttar Pradesh 262 for 3 in 48.4 overs (Aryan Juyal 100, Rinku Singh 78, Madhav Kaushik 70; Rohit Rayudu 3/29).

Tripura 261 for 8 in 50 overs (Manisankar Murasingh 69 not out; Digvijay Rangi 2/44) vs Himachal Pradesh 222 all out in 46.2 overs (Shubham Arora 62; Subham Ghosh 3/47).

Manipur 138 all out in 44 overs (Langlonyamba Meitan Keishangbam 38, Al Bashid Muhammed 38; Sandeep Sharma 5/18) vs Chandigarh 140 for 4 in 25.3 overs (Ankit Kaushik 45, Arslan Khan 39; Kangabam Singh 2/14).

Get the latest Cricket News, Schedule and Cricket Live Scores here

Source link

Previous articleEXCLUSIVE: ‘Because of the IPL…’, Jonty Rhodes makes a BIG statement on India’s T20I squad for New Zealand series
Next articleXi-Trudeau heated exchange at G20 Summit: China defends Jinping’s remarks as ‘candid, normal’
SATARK NEWS ENGLISH was launched in 2020. And in just a few months, it became the famous English news website in India and abroad. And now we publish with three different languages English, Hindi, and Urdu.